August 3, 2015

Rousso and Esfandiari headline WPT final table

Perhaps it has to do with poker legend Doyle Brunson’s name being included in the tournament title, but for whatever reason the World Poker Tour Doyle Brunson Five Diamonds Poker Classic (that really is a mouthful) produces some of the strongest final tables in poker –not to mention that every previous winner is a highly recognizable name in the poker world.

Most in the poker industry wouldn’t think it possible to best last year’s final table field of six that included Daniel Alaei, Josh Arieh, Faraz “The Toilet” Jaka, Shawn Buchanan, Scotty Nguyen, and Steve O’Dwyer, but the 2010 version of the tournament will sport a final table of:

  • Vanessa Rousso — 5,830,000
  • John Racener — 3,235,000
  • Andrew Robl — 3,210,000
  • Kirk Morrison — 2,650,000
  • Antonio Esfandiari — 2,105,000
  • Ted Lawson — 635,000

This will keep the run of top players winning the tournament alive (there was one exception in 2005 when Rehne Pederson bested Patrik Antonius in heads-up play), a streak that began in Season 1 of the WPT with Gus Hansen, and continued through last year’s tournament with Daniel Alaei. Here is a look at the past winners of the WPT Five Diamonds, which one of the above players will add their name to:

2002: Gus Hansen
2003: Paul Phillips
2004: Daniel Negreanu
2005: Rehne Pederson
2006: Joe Hachem
2007: Eugene Katchalov
2008: Chino Rheem
2009: Daniel Alaei

Did you like this? Share it:

Related posts:

  1. Antonio Esfandiari beats stacked final table to win WPT Five Diamonds
  2. Bell, Frankenberger and Klodnicki headline WSOPC final table
  3. Final Table at WPT Championship Now Set
  4. Marchese and Mizrachi reach final table of NAPT bounty shootout
  5. WPT Foxwoods World Poker Open final table set

Speak Your Mind